NEW CLOTHES

Today I am wearing a new

Royal blue skirt

I step into a new pair of black suede boots

And BAM! The soles touching my heels

Can only be described as

Miniature time machines

Dragging me back to

The first day of first grade

Clutching a black & white notebook

Sewn on the binding

A yellow pencil peeping out

From the yet-blank center page

As I twirl around

In my new September skirt of

Burnt sienna and red

While scuffing my brown suede shoes

Five-year-old me

Totally unaware of those eyes

From the future

Smiling sadly yet bravely

At the whirling, twirling girl…

(c) 2014 ViataMaja

Leave a Reply

