SACRED SIXTIES SONG: Phil Ochs’ “I Ain’t Marching Anymore”

IN HONOR OF PHIL OCHS’ 75TH BIRTHDAY DECEMBER 19. MET HIM SEVERAL TIMES AND HE WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE FOLK SINGERS, TEACHING THIS YOUNG TEEN HOW TO HAVE A VOICE ON OUR EARTH, THROUGH HIS MUSIC. PLEASE SEE ALL THE DIFFERENT WAYS PEOPLE ARE CELEBRATING AT https://www.facebook.com/groups/Ochs75thbirthday/

poeturja

(Another poem in celebration of Phil Ochs’ 75th birthday)

phil ochs i aint marching anymore

Phil’s voice echoing in my mind

As I learn to play

My new ukulele

Here are the chords

No riff, but couldn’t do justice

To the memorable, musical phrase

That always gave me chills when a teen

Listening to him on late-night weekend FM

No commercials in the sixties

Bought the album

Saw him countless times at folk festivals

And Philly coffee houses

Spoke to him twice

Well, in my ultra-shy way

Went through a period of

Perverting his song

As I tired from marching

Although it was to prevent the type of marching

Phil Ochs meant

Anti-war but also voting rights, Women’s Lib

War just kept coming

Voters got rights but stopped voting

Women didn’t want equality if it meant

Sharing a bathroom with men

In frustration I invoked the words of

Phil Ochs

Silently shouting:

“I Ain’t Marching Anymore”!

View original post 88 more words

Leave a Reply

