AN APPLE A DAY

(A Rainy Morning Poem)

 

I must face life

I’ve plateau-ed out

Yet learned to play ukulele

Does that count?

 

I’ve lost weight

Yet the scale is a lie

One unwelcome pound

Grins while I sigh

 

I’ve become forgetful

What have I read?

Yet I’m writing poetry

My soul well-fed

 

I rarely sleep

And often feel tired

Yet exercise daily

Sometimes feel wired

 

So I may have plateau-ed

In life and love

But each morning begins

With excited hope (sort of)

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

 

IMAGE: Aging Apple drmikediet.com

 

 

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

