MORNING VISIT TO WALMART (work in progress for protest song)

 

The sons of Sam

Also the daughters

Walton, that is

Not the serial killer who slaughtered

 

But what is the difference

How people are done in

Greed can murder

Creating a double sin

 

Huge super stores

Feng Shui all wrong

The body compass whacks out

While stumbling along

 

Fifty cash registers

In front of the door

But only three cashiers

Given hours to work the floor

 

Broken leg veins

Caused by standing all day

Money for the doctors

No longer worth the pay

 

Oh the workers got a raise

But their hours were cut

Working poor get screwed

While the corporations glut

 

Two hundred dollars

Above the poverty line

Curse you Walmart

And all your corporate kind

 

© Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE: Welcome to Walmart say the gulls

6 comments

  1. Nice poem, but I must put in my two-cents worth. A few months ago, I retired from Walmart following a 22 year career there. Yes, I started out making a low wage, but what company pays an entry-level employee who knows absolutely nothing a high wage? I did my job to the best of my ability, advanced, and eventually made a very good wage, plus had benefits comparable to any company (except the US government), plus personal time, sick time, and had the advantage of a very liberal absentee policy. In my time, I saw people who started out as cart pushers and cashiers become store managers. You can advance as high as you wish, no degrees required; you just have to be able to do your job, and do it well, and be willing to move up. At Walmart, you get back what you put into a job, and not have the attitude that “I showed up, pay me for that.” I also wish to add regarding raises that Walmart pays by how well you do your job combined with years of service. My yearly raise was higher than my husband’s, who worked at a place that was unionized.
    Sorry for the rant, but there are so many Walmart haters who have no idea what it is like to work for the company.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Mary Cathleen, I am always willing to hear another side of a story and will be glad to let the record stand. I appreciate what you have written here and agree with you on some of the points. I think that many of the jobs in Florida, or in the South, may be a bit different since there are no unions, yet I believe that some unions have destroyed, not helped, US labor. So while I write poetry that is always 99% true (for me), I suppose there are other realities that should be explored also. Thanks for reading and commenting. I love your blog and will continue to follow you as I hope you will follow me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Gary, about the poem! About the seagulls, though, well, ok, they’re bigger but can they beautifully beg for junk food like the USA ones can? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

