THE ABSENCE OF COLOR

 

Days deep in the desert transformed me

From owning a weepy black aura

To observing a bleaching

By sand, silt, petrified crystal

And one-hundred-and-twelve-degree heat

Baked

Caked with dust

From newly-dug dinosaur bones

My aura

Soaking in arid Arizona’s

Silence and solitude

Altered me

(Forever, I thought)

 

Transfixed

Stared at the motel room’s mirror

Revealing my new emanation

White

Angelic purity raining down

On thoughts

Caressing every atom

Creating my universe

Blameless me

Blameless you

 

Carried the aura through

For several years

But not quite sure

Whether the daily deluge of life

Now in the swamp, not the desert

Staining the body halo with

Sodden algae and other organisms

Percolating in humidity

Darkening the white

Was the reason why

The absence of color

Mutated into

Violet

Indigo

Turquoise

Green

Yellow

Orange

Red

And finally Black

 

Bleak years

Mirror of Melancholy reflecting back

Oh, make it go away

I no longer know how to fix it…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

4 comments

Leave a Reply

