WAH, WAH, POOR ME…

 

Severe cabin fever

In today’s heat and humidity

Out of sorts

No fun in the yard

Don’t have a pool

Don’t want to drive

Don’t like TV

Don’t want to play my ukulele

So jumped the fence

Into the swamp

Like playing hooky

From school

Roamed the edges

Steeling myself to enter

But hey

It’s May

The merry month

Of gator mating

And the snakes are already

Sidewinding around the outer edges

Of my yard

What to do?

I study the unrelenting greenery

You can see my house plant

Of Sansevieria trifasciata

Also called Mother-in-law tongue

(Hmmm, why not Father-in-law tongue?)

That I ditched because

The dogs ate it and got sick

Mother Nature welcomed them

Made them stronger and larger

Glad someone loves them

There are white blossoms on the upper bushes

Life, although a bit out of control

Is rampantly joyous

So I ask myself:

Upset with life?

Seriously?

What’s wrong with me?

I am so lucky to be here

Walking in hot sun and damp air

I hear ambulance sirens

My darling dogs howl

And that is the reality check I heed

To tamp down my greed

For all the things I do not need

In my life…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE: edge of my swamp

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

