PASSIVE-AGGRESSIVE MEMOIR

 

Another piece of my heart

Was broken

The last tea set

I owned

Lovingly wrapped

Kept in a dollar store

Plastic box

In a dark corner

Where you’d never find it

But then I trusted you

Felt you were finally healed

Took it out to use

And “Whoops!”

Shattered

“Your fault!”

You snarled

“Leaving it so close to the edge!”

That was then

Today

I only own

Boots, tunics, leggings

Smart phone, PC, Kindle

Ukuleles and a 2007 car

Living in a naked present

My past is all broken

From your silent rages

Seems I am the only one

Still able to hear

The tinkling glass

Reverberating in my heart…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

 

 

 

10 comments

Leave a Reply

