WORK IN PROGRESS INTRO POEM FOR NEW BOOK

 

I am the egocentric sun

With a personal solar system

Swirling around me

Bumping into stars and moons

Orbiting around each planet

Like Earth’s solar star

Yet not as steady

Blinking in and out

Depending on mood

Illuminating my miniature worlds:

Words, Music, Dogs

Love, Loss, Mythology

Loneliness and Elation

But Like Pluto

Will one of these worlds be

Bogus, merely an asteroid

Waiting to slam into another

Whirling body

Disintegrating endlessly

Will other planets emerge

Becoming visible through

Powerful telescopic eyes

Matching my movement of Time

In the guise of Equatorial thoughts

Creating more worlds and

Destroying others…?

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

10 comments

    1. Hmmm, I re-read it because it didn’t occur to me that my tone was anything other than my usually upbeat self. Yes, I see that it is, in a sense. I must stop watching world news before writing 😦 I do not receive much feedback so I appreciate your comment. Thank you!

      Like

      1. I could also be projecting. Perhaps psychologically lonely is more accurate. Interesting perspective at the very least.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ok, I was wrong. This one has that whole vague, yet concise feel I personally prefer for the style of writing. The art of saying exactly what you mean while leaving it a mystery to the reader. I tend to just spout of random metaphors over a certain mood I’m in. :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

