UNCONSUMMATED GUITAR

(scroll down for YouTube video)

 

Began my love affair with you

A twenty-five dollar acoustic guitar

Gifted for my sixteenth birthday

Six wild months of passion followed

As I learned all my favorites in a

Peter, Paul and Mary song book

But like many flighty teens

It was merely a flirtation

And I met a twenty-five cent kazoo

Who was not as high maintenance

As you

Requiring no lengthy practice time

Just blow and hum

Eventually, gave him up too

Stuck to the radio until MTV entered my life

But just didn’t get the videos

And the music, well,

No real Janis or Jimi-worthy singers

By the 90s

I was buying 60s and 70s CDs

Screw trying to stay current with music

Music?

Fifteen years into the new century

Began a new love affair

His name is ukulele

Oh, the excitement!

And after a full year

I’m still in love!

Playing every day

Writing silly songs

Singing off-key

My ukulele and me

We’re one

But no,

Under the sign of Virgo

I’ll be traveling 1000 miles

To see my sons

How will I part from my

Long-term lover ukulele?

He’s too much to drag

Along with a suitcase, back pack

Laptop, phone, kindle, and two

Pairs of black boots

Epiphany

Doesn’t my son own a guitar?

Tremblingly, I ask via phone

May I borrow it while you’re at work

The full week I’m alone in the home?

Yes, yes he says!

And this feeling

That I kept secret for a week

But am now confessing on social media

This shocking feeling is called LUST!

I’m LUSTING for my old lover

Willing to cheat on ukulele

Throwing it under the bus

To have one last dance with guitar

But I will pay for my sin

I’m a die-hard acoustic-lover

Once booed Dylan at a folk festival

When he hauled out his electric guitar

Oh, how can I play one?

But I will

I will play my son’s electric guitar

I will probably pretend to be Joan Jett

Singing, “I Love Rock N Roll…”

(Oh, wish I was skinny like her)

And I don’t care that I’m hurting ukulele

I don’t care that I’m selling out my principles

Trading wood for plastic

I can feel guitar

As we embrace

I can hear guitar as we duet

My heart is racing

Consummation at last…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE:  B.C. Rich Warlock Metal Master

 

 

https://youtu.be/gd6CqLyiGJU  Joan Jett, I Love Rock N Roll (YouTube video)

 

 

5 comments

  1. To the acoustic/electric debate; why not both? I’ve been on guitar for 13 years now. Started with acoustic, bumped myself up to the sonic variety of the electric, and occasionally like to screw with a bass, and rarely dabble with a piano. Truth be told, you can get an electric to sound exactly like an acoustic these days, but I have to admit there is something to an acoustic that can’t be replaced.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What you say is definitely true, but I’ve lived my life to be portable (must be the Romani/Gypsy genes) where one must always be ready to move. I guess the electric guitar, to me, represents civilization (electrical power) while the acoustic can be used anywhere, inside or out. Something tells me, though, that after this trip when I play the electric guitar, I’ll be hauling one home, hopelessly in love with it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

