WALK LIKE A SPHINX RIDDLE

 

(scroll down for a YouTube video)

 

Those three o’clock in the morning barks

Of moon-struck dogs wanting to be out

I Jump from the bed but age will tell

Walking like a chimp, hurts like hell

As four canines race around the darkened swamp

I slowly get my spine aligned

 

But why oh why at this hour, with a silvery sky above

Do I think of Oedipus (before or after being a Rex?)

Yes, somehow there is now meaning in the Riddle of the Sphinx

Who devoured all travelers unable to answer:

“Which creature has one voice

And yet becomes four-footed and two-footed and three-footed?”

Only Oedipus, he who blinds himself

And supplies a buzz word to Freud in later years,

Answers:  “Man—who crawls on all fours as a baby

Then walks on two feet as an adult

And then uses a walking stick in old age”

 

I myself would rather walk like an Egyptian

Yeah, I know, it has silly lyrics

Maybe a bit politically incorrect

But I do love the Bangles song

And if I’m starting to move in a creaky fashion

I just want to look cute while I do it…

 

https://youtu.be/BWP-AsG5DRk  Bangles “Walk Like An Egyptian”

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

