ON PLAYING VINCENT FOR THE FIRST TIME

 

(scroll down for youtube video)

 

No, no, I’m not Don McLean

I certainly do not feel ashamed

As the music emanates from ukulele strings

I laugh in delight and then I sing

No, no, not his voice

Fingers clumsy but it’s my choice

Better to play a respectful pastiche

Than live in silence, longing leashed…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

Image: Starry Night Over the Rhone, Vincent Van Gogh

 

YouTube Video: Vincent, Don McLean  https://youtu.be/4wrNFDxCRzU

6 comments

    1. Thank you so much! It is a very beautiful song and as I sing it I wish I could write like Don McLean does (or draw like Vincent Van Gogh did). But I content myself with what little I can do and enjoy my life such as it is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.