EVACUATION

 

**scroll down for a YouTube video**

 

What price happiness

When a hurricane claims dominance

Over small pleasures

But the things I love

Are now liabilities

Like huge Live Oak trees

Swaying

Precursor to toppling

On a mortgage-free

Tin trailer

Sitting innocuously

By a swamp

Soon to flood

Possibly

Shelter from a storm

Impossible

With four dogs

I thought portability

Was a safe way to live

But no room at the inn

Or hurricane shelter

For dogs

The simple life comes

With great cost

No sense to rave

But through it all

I wonder which

Ukulele I should save…

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

YouTube video, Rolling Stones, Gimme Shelter https://youtu.be/RbmS3tQJ7Os

IMAGE: 2004 Hurricane Jeanne tree missing my trailer, just…

 

So my friends, once again I’ll be off-line.  The hurricane will be worse on the Atlantic side but because the winds are so powerful, the powers that be are evacuating trailer trash like me.  Thanks, as always for all your likes and comments.  Hope to be back soon.  Stay safe if you’re in the path!  Clarissa

9 comments

Leave a Reply

