BAXT (LUCK)

 

The randomness of life

Frightens me

Lucky-Unlucky

Where is the cosmic plan

Is there no control

Over our own lives

Dice thrown

Slot machine arms pulled

Fifty-two cards shuffled

It seems that patterns

Are more a crazy quilt

As prayers remain unanswered

But surely mathematical swirls

Adorning backs of nautilus shells

Or the two eyes on most animal life

Or planets orbiting stationary suns

Or cruciferous vegetable petals

Are part of a well-defined design

An inevitable scheme

And not a random dream?

 

© 2016 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE: A Timeless Vision

 

12 comments

  1. “Are part of a well-defined design / An inevitable scheme / And not a random dream?”

    There is life dreaming itself and creating itself. We come from dreams, then we become the dreamers, but only when we make the effort, otherwise we remain asleep, enslaved to the dreams of others. We can control our own “destiny” but we do not control the big picture, being but a part of it. We can look at “the big picture” as an ocean we are about to embark upon on a journey of discovery, or we can look on it as a hurricane coming down upon us. I see it as both, but my dream has shown me that I am ultimately invincible, infinite, endless, timeless. There is “this”… and there is “that” and I can live between them, dancing from one to the other. If “this” gets too familiar, too close, I skip over to “that” until I need something tighter again, then I come back… Nothing is random but life’s flow does not come with a patterned scheme: it depends on us, its “extensions” to create the next wave, then it adapts it to itself and evolves thus. Just now, I needed a touch of earth reality, so I went walking barefoot in 20 inches of snow in the backyard. It’s an interesting sensation, an almost sexual connection to earth. It makes you forget everything else, so intense it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, an interesting way to look at sleeping or dreaming the universe. I know what you mean about earthing. No snow here but I love to sink onto my knees in the dirt and dig with my hands (whether planting or not).

      Like

      1. Ah yes, this is where I mentioned the snow walking. Growing earth is gentler, a different kind of relationship. There is also the coarse gravel on river banks, and my favourite is sand, or warm mud just under water, or at the edge, that you can slide your entire body onto as you come in from a swim, or slide from entering deeper waters to swim. These people who live in cities, it’s no wonder they have no sense, no real understanding – they no longer have any connection with nature.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is no wonder to me why people are so artificial and essentially brain dead today, though they may make a pretense to be otherwise. I come from a land that then had not seen either cement or pavement, that had no connection to the grid: no electricity, and no “natural” gas, and only one telephone for the entire community, at the general store, if you can remember that huge wooden box on the wall with an earpiece that you lifted off to open the connection, then the crank to access the distribution central in a distant city, and the mouthpiece you had to talk into once you had someone to talk to. Wooden or log houses, wood burning stoves and home-made furnaces with 45 gal. oil drums and bottomless 5 gals. buckets end to end for heat piping… and the skies were so clear you could see your paths in the snow without a moon, under the stars and the Milky Way. I still remember the aurora borealis lighting up the countryside in green and red hues. I’m hoping to see some of that again when I go up to Fort McMurray (northern Alberta, Canada) in April, on a volunteer reconstruction caper to rebuild after the wild fires and the floods up there. I’ll be “attached” to Mennonite Disaster Service volunteer brigades, some of the volunteers coming from your end of the world, actually. I was up in the north last Summer on a short trip but I wasn’t impressed with what they’ve done to “my” old stomping grounds around Peace River – everything is done on a massive agri-business basis now, nothing real, nothing hands on. Inevitable, I suppose. How I do ramble…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. All of us writers ramble…it’s all good! Your volunteer project sounds wonderful and I expect you will write about and photograph it? I guess overpopulation breeds agri-businesses and nothing will ever be the same again……

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

