SCARING KORAKO (CROW)

 

No exaggeration

Fifty-plus crows

In my backyard oaks

Noisy and cawing

How they croaked

Despite the dogs

Barking and leaping

The crows intent on

Hysterical cardinals

And doves scared out of sleeping

They never react to crashing noises

Screaming or begging

Or my Romani words of magical ploys

So tried the peaceful way

And walked around the yard

Me with my ukulele

Playing and singing

“Leaving on a Jet Plane”

(Don’t know when YOU’LL be back again)

And really, they quieted, discussed my words

Took wing, darkening the still-daylight waxing moon

Feeling best to go hungry

Than put up with that screeching, plunking loon

And I heard the collective sigh

Of backyard, hiding birds, no lie

How useful I feel

Scarecrow extraordinaire

Guess I finally have a brain…

 

© 2017 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE: My tenor ukulele with berries

Leave a Reply

