WAKING-UP DREAM

 

Holding the Book of Illusion

Tied with nine knots

Containing the secrets

Of the Conqueror Worm

Welcoming me

Shades of Poe!

Human mortality

Inevitability of death

Is this a message?

Acculturation of dragons

The blood in my body:

German slave owners

Planting their seed

As the Gypsies stripped grapes

From the vines for wine

Further cross-cultural symbols

Existing for Romani, too

Maternal Kalderash word: Azdaja

Paternal Sinti word: Draxo

Oh, Poe!

Why do you bedevil me

In my sleep

With dragons, serpents, worms?

Once again I study the knots

What thoughts

Emotions

Incantations

Are woven throughout?

Binding the dance

Between life and death

But there is no depth

To the dream

After all, it doesn’t have to be a

Warning

Merely a reminder

Immortality spawned from

Fiction, rhyme

Live the best you can

Within finite time

A never-long-enough

Lifespan…

 

© 2017 Clarissa Simmens (ViataMaja)

IMAGE: book & knot (cs)

 

 

19 comments

      1. Good question, Sha’Tara. Somehow, though, the older I get, the more I look forward to oblivion (if there is such a thing). I find that all those old people, who said the older they get the less they know, is so true. But I’ll ponder what you’ve said. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks. For what it’s worth, the older I get the more active my mind gets; the more I know and the more I need to know more. There’s much to learn here – that’s what chaos worlds are for after all, and I want as much of it as I can “get my hands on” to take with me. As to oblivion, the Teachers taught that oblivion, or the dissolution of one’s self into the greater whole, is possible, never automatic. It’s a choice one can make… apparently. We did not spend much time on that topic since it wasn’t one I was interested in… obviously!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Absolutely love this, Clarissa!
    Sometimes, it feels like one lifetime is not enough, but more often, like in your comment to Sha’Tara above, I think I would welcome oblivion. And I wonder if I am tired of living, or just tired of being old.
    And I’m with you–the older I get, the less I know. My daddy used to say that, and now I know what he meant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

